- DMV APPROVED
- PARENT'S GUIDE
- License Test
- Learners Permit
- Defensive Driving
Refund & Cancellation Policy Links .
Learners Permit DMV California
Obtaining a valid California Learner's Permit is a two part process. First, an applicant must pass the DMV written test with no more than 8 errors. The DMV will then issue an invalid permit. To validate the permit (or be legal to drive), the holder must have their first lesson with a licensed driving instructor.
The written test is designed to test an applicant's knowledge about traffic rules and regulations and other basic driving etiquette. The applicant will have to get at least 38 correct answers out of a total of 46 questions to be eligible for a Learner's Permit from the California DMV.
Once the applicant has their permit validated their California learners permit, they can drive a vehicle anywhere within the state as long as they are accompanied by an adult 25 years or older, with a valid California driver's license. Also, it is illegal for the permit holder to drive alone at any time.
The following conditions/procedures need to be fulfilled for an applicant to be eligible for a California Learners Permit:
Must show two proofs of California Residency.
The applicant must be at least 15 1/2 years old.
The applicant must complete the DL 44 form (copies of the form will not be accepted) and get it signed by the parents or guardians of the applicant. The applicant must have completed Drivers Education and present a DMV Completion Certificate. The applicant must give a thumb print. The applicant must have their picture taken. The applicant must provide their Social Security Number. (Birth certificate or passport). The applicant must provide proof of identity and birth date. The applicant must pay the application fee. The applicant must pass the vision exam. The applicant must pass a traffic laws and signs test.